Decisions-Decisions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

handwrought

Reaction score
Hi everyone! What a great site!!!
I'm new to home brewing and have a few questions. Imagine that! I've been looking at home brew equipment kits and I am interested in the Midwest Home brew kit that has been reviewed on this site and the Northwest kit. Both are about $200.00 when one factors in a batch kit. I like the glass Carboys but am being swayed by the Better Bottle carboy reviews. As a rule, I try not to use plastics for food storage. It seems the Midwest kit is more of a complete kit in that it has more equipment for measuring outcomes while the brewing process is happening. Do I need those capabilities? My tastes in beer run on the bold and complex range of Barley Wine and Stouts. So I imagine I will be brewing these styles of beer most times. This leads me to my next question, Is a Barley wine a good first beer to brew? I will be using a kit.

TIA for any suggestions and guidance!
Peter

I'd avoid doing a barleywine first. They need aging to hit their best flavor. As a first time brewer, you should start with something easy that turns around quickly so you have something to taste and to learn from. You wil likely make mistakes in your first batch (we all do) and you want to learn from them. A porter or a stout would be a better first brew as they will be ready sooner.