Critique Session IPA please!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

turkeygecko

Reaction score
Hey all - Hoping to brew a session IPA this weekend, which I've never done before. I'm not looking to make it very bitter, so vast majority of hop additions are flameout and dry hop. I'm most interested in feedback on mash temp and use of dextrine/Carapils as it relates to body and head retention, but all feedback welcome! I don't want to make an extremely thin beer, but I want it pretty dry... hence the (typical IPA) low mash temp, plus the use of Carapils.

Thanks all!

12 gallons wort post boil, 11 going to fermentor
OG 1.052
Final 1.014
ABV 5.05%

16 lb 2-row
2 lb Carapils/dextrine
2 lb Vienna
1 lb Crystal 60

Mash @ 152 for 60 mins
Mashout @ 169 for 10 mins

2 oz. Pacific Gem (15.4 AA) - 30 mins

1 oz. Citra (11 AA) - flameout
1 oz. Motueka (7 AA) - flameout
1 oz. Nelson Sauvin (12.5 AA) - flameout

2 oz. Citra (11 AA) - dry hop
2 oz. Motueka (7 AA) - dry hop
2 oz. Nelson Sauvin (12.5 AA) - dry hop
2 oz. Amarillo (8.6 AA) - dry hop

Wyeast 1272 @ 68

Sent from my iPad using Home Brew

I have been working on my session IPA recipes as well, your recipe looks good to me. I have learned that trying to go below a 1.050 to 1.052 OG does not make a session IPA that I like. I feel you need the ABV in the mid 5's to get the flavor I want.

My grain bill I've settled on looks like this for 10.5 gallons going to the fermentor (14.5 pre-boil):

18 lb. 2-row
2 lb. Vienna
1 lb. CaraPils
12 oz. Crystal 20L
12 oz. Honey Malt

I mash this at 152. I have made this several times with several hop combinations, but I concentrate on late additions. It has a good body, good head retention, and finishes dry (1.010-1.012).

My hop schedule looks like this: