Critique my AG Pale Ale Recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daholl01

Reaction score
Hey,
This is my first attempt at creating my own recipe, and I am going for an American Pale Ale. I kind of tried to make this with some of the characteristics of Sierra Nevada Pale ale, although I am not necessarily trying to clone it.

Any critiques would be greatly appreciated, as this is my first recipe.

Alright, pretty simple:

8 lb. 2-row
1 lb. Munich
1 lb. Crystal 20L

1 oz Perle (60 min)
.5 oz Cascade (30 min)
.5 oz Cascade (10 min)

Yeast: White Labs WLP001 California Ale

Here are the stats:

Est. OG: 1.054
Est. FG: 1.012
Est. ABV: 5.46%
IBU: 39.2

Est. SRM: 6.8

Just for reference the SNPA:

Est. OG: 1.053
Est. FG: 1.011
Est. ABV: 5.6%
IBU: 37

My main questions are with what you all think of the Crystal and Munich malts and the amount used in the recipe. I realize this is a pretty basic recipe but I would like to hear any input.

I think the color of the beer will be rather light. The 20L crystal will give some sweetness but not much other flavor, 40 or 60 might treat you better, but I also think it's good to use other ingredients out and get a feel for what they offer. 40 and 60 are VERY commonly used in APAs, so using 20 might be good thing to get a flavor for. I love some Munich in a pale ale. I really can't scoff about your grain bill too much.

I think the beer you are brewing will end up with 'low hop aroma' You might want to consider throwing another 0.5 or even 1.0 ounce of Cascade in at flame out. I say 'low hop aroma' b/c a BMC drinker will tell you it smells like bug spray. Just throwing that out there, if you're looking for a typical PA type aroma that will come up a bit short.

There's my $0.02.........get to brewin!