Corking?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joewalla88

Reaction score
Is it possible to cork a beer by hand without a corker? I want to cork and cage my next batch of sour beer, but not sure if it's possible without buying more gear that I don't really want to invest in right now.

Corkers compress the corks to allow them to enter the bottle neck. I don't see how you could do that without at least a hand corker (and that's going to get old in a hurry). I also don't think you can simply pound a Belgian style bottle cork into a bottle without something going quite wrong in the offing.

fwiw, some lhbs's loan or rent bench corkers...

Cheers!

Last edited:
That will compress and insert your corks, but I have no knowledge regarding those corkers, and partial insertion for cork and cage.

If you're going to buy, get one of the Portuguese bench/floor corkers. I can confirm that they do beer corks well, at a cheap-for-a-floor-model price.

If you don't want to buy, borrow or rent a floor corker. Some near you has one, I promise. They're pretty common.

There are plastic corks (actually called champagne stoppers) that have a mushroom shape that you just push down in with your palm. Then cage. I’ve used them with champagne level carbonation and as long as your cage is secure you’re good to go. Now, when you remove the cage, all bets are off.

Plastic Champagne Stoppers, Bag of 50 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0068RP2YI/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

There are plastic corks (actually called champagne stoppers) that have a mushroom shape that you just push down in with your palm. Then cage. I’ve used them with champagne level carbonation and as long as your cage is secure you’re good to go. Now, when you remove the cage, all bets are off.