'cool' temperature ale fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
i've seen a lot of posts recently with the OP asking if his/her fermentation temps are too low. most of the time, their ambient temps are a bit low, but considering the exothermic properties of fermentation, they're actually fermenting right in the desired range for the yeast they're using. occasionally the OP is actually fermenting a few degrees below the manufacturer's suggested temp range. which, in my experience, is a vague guideline they set for 'optimum' yeast performance. i have some thoughts and experience on the subject of fermenting below recommended temps. by below i mean actual wort temps, and not ambient.
since very early on in my brewing, i learned the importance of fermenting any brew within the yeast strain's specified temperature range. i began controlling temps within my first ten batches by using what we home brewers call a 'swamp cooler', basically a large bucket containing a water bath for the FV. i started keeping temps in the middle of the range for the yeasts i was using, usually around 65-68 degrees, and man, did that make a huge difference in my beer right away. my ales were tasting like good ales right after FG was reached. i immediately realized the importance of temp control during active fermentation. i could primary the average ale for 2 weeks and have a beer that tasted great and was free of off flavors, something i struggled with in my first few batches.