Condition bottles (covered) near window?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nebulabrewing

Dan M.
Reaction score
I'm a newbie to brewing (but not drinking). :tank:

My first brew (IPA extract kit) is bottled in my closet. Tomorrow will be the 21 days since I've bottled. Practically no carbonation. :(

The weather in northeast Florida has been very sporadic. One day it's 80 and the next its 56. I live on the 11th floor in a high rise apartment. I just checked and the closet my brew is in is apparently only at 67 degrees. I've checked for hot sources to place my brew but have none.

I have a window that faces the south. Would it be a bad idea to place my beer in that room under the window out of direct sunlight? The bottles are currently in boxes, and I planned on covering them with a big, heavy blanket. I have my next brew fermenting away.

Is this a bad idea to see if this will speed up the carbonation process? Worth a shot?

Thanks!

I'm a newbie to brewing (but not drinking). :tank:

My first brew (IPA extract kit) is bottled in my closet. Tomorrow will be the 21 days since I've bottled. Practically no carbonation. :(

The weather in northeast Florida has been very sporadic. One day it's 80 and the next its 56. I live on the 11th floor in a high rise apartment. I just checked and the closet my brew is in is apparently only at 67 degrees. I've checked for hot sources to place my brew but have none.

I have a window that faces the south. Would it be a bad idea to place my beer in that room under the window out of direct sunlight? The bottles are currently in boxes, and I planned on covering them with a big, heavy blanket. I have my next brew fermenting away.

Is this a bad idea to see if this will speed up the carbonation process? Worth a shot?

Thanks!