Commercial "Traditional Mead" for a newbie to try?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul_F

Reaction score
I'm a total brewing newbie (except for some fermented soda's... I make a decent lemon-ginger soda), and thinking about taking up some Mead making... Busily reading about Joe's Ancient Orange Mead in the Recipe forum.

I'm wondering if there's a "Traditional Mead" on the commercial market that a guy could try to see if he even LIKES the stuff!

I tried a Mead, a metheglin, I think, at a winery in North Dakota a few years ago - but didn't care so much for that one.... far too reminiscent of grass clippings. I'd love to try a "lightly sweet" mead reminiscent of... oh, I dunno... Honey? :D

Suggestions of a commercially available "traditional mead", that hobby mead-makers don't hate, to try out appreciated!

Paul F.

Ha ha! The perennial quandary.......

The difference between meads as how they CAN be made as opposed to how they're made because that's how a commercial maker produces them because he thinks that's what the public want......

I can't suggest a brand of traditional you might find, I don't know what'd be available to you in your area. Most of the traditionals here seem to be firmly in the "Dessert" category. Cloyingly sweet with very high residual sugars. Not bad tasting over all just very, very sweet.

You might get some idea of what's actually produced if you look at the commercial area over at gotmead and then check out their websites and then find out if its available near you......

Just remember, the US has some very convoluted and strange regs for shipping alcoholic beverages that vary widely by state........

Many thanks... I'm reading over at Gotmead now...