Cold Crashing Under Pressure

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

kmind

Reaction score
Total noob with fermenting under pressure/trying to avoid the oxygen suck back issue of cold crashing. Bare with me and you may have to explain it like I'm 5.

I'll be using a Fermzilla All Rounder to ferment under pressure for my first time. I've read a few different answers on cold crashing and just want to make sure I understand everything correctly. Assume I will be fermenting under 15psi, and I don't want to carbonate the beer much at all during the cold crash.

1. Can I simply just take off the spunding valve and set the temperature to 34 degrees? The lid has a gas and liquid post so I would assume no oxygen would get sucked in unless I had a leak?
2. Can I actually leave the spunding valve on or can oxygen still get sucked in through a spunding valve?
3. If questions 1 and 2 wouldn't work, should I just hook up CO2 from my tank and keep it at about 2psi during the cold crash?

Thanks so much!

burtom

Reaction score
Take off the spunding valve and crash away. You should drop About 5 PSI going from 68 to 32 degrees.

DuncB

Reaction score
you could start your cold crash with more pressure that way the carbing is occuring during the crash. So you will be able to drink the beer sooner.

apache_brew

Reaction score
Your spunding valve won't let air in unless it incorporates some sort of vacuum relief (most dont). It's a one way valve that relieves pressure at the point you set it to. If you have a pressure gauge integral to the spunding valve, i'd just leave it on so that you can see for yourself how much the internal pressure reduces due to crashing. Like @burtom said, it will be around 5 psi drop. As long as you have positive internal pressure, you don't have to worry about oxygen getting in. Spraying starsan on all you connections under pressure is good indicator for leaks if you have any.