Closet Water Chiller

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
hbt-erikrocks-977.jpg

Although I love brewing, I know that it is not the most environmentally-friendly hobby in the world. One of the most obvious of these offenders is the water we waste chilling our boiling wort to pitchable temperatures at the end of a brewday. When I started brewing five gallon batches four-plus years ago, I would try to run the water out of my immersion chiller into 5-gallon buckets to use to clean my gear after the wort was in the fermentor. As I stepped up to ten and then fifteen gallon batches, a new set of issues arose. First, I simply didn't have enough buckets to capture the quantity of water from my (now) plate chiller. Second, I have a shallow well pump on my property. As a result, I would often run out of water of the way through my chill. Not only did this mean I had 100-degree wort in the fermentor but, more importantly, my family would be without water for the next hour or so. As a result, my father-in-law (Len) and I designed my (semi) eco-friendly wort cooling system.
hbt-erikrocks-2-978.jpg

In addition to (or as a result of) my shallow well pump, our water is fairly hard and sediment-rich. As a result, we have a water softener. As many of you know, the water softener in and of itself produces its own share of waste water each week when it recharges and flushes gallons upon gallons of excess brine water into the septic system. It was Len's idea to somehow harness this brine waste water and use it as our cooling water.