cleaning the inside of a plate chiller

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

philosofool

Reaction score
I've been using a plate chiller for 5 years and it has served me well. After a particular incident involving a big clump of trub running into it, it has slowed down--wort doesn't pass through efficiently anymore. I've tried PBW but it still seems little clogged.

It's copper and stainless on the inside. Any thoughts about removing a large amount of organic junk from in it?

Back flush with near boiling PBW. That's what I do. I think you can also safely "bake" it in the oven. After baking the gunk would likely be reduced in size and then the PBW might get it out.

Yep. Bake it at 350 for a while. Or a lye rinse running backwards.

After my brew day my plate chiller gets a 45 minute back flush of 135°f pbw. I've got some acid around and I think I might give a quick rinse of acid soon as an annual treatment.

After brew day I run Alkaline Brewery Wash through it, followed by a water rinse, and then Saniclean. Before brewing, I'll fill it with StarSan. Every once in a while, I'll boil it in a big pot of water.

Yeah, I had been back flushing with the garden hose after every brew day but when I moved recently, it became more convenient to do it in my kitchen sink (I live at seven thousand feet, and the less time spent by the garden spigot at eleven PM in January, the better.) The force from the sink wasn't as good but it seemed to run clear. Another change to my system affected how I remove wort from the kettle and that's when I had a day of noticing the wad of gunk go in to the chiller. It hasn't been the same since. Once I get this fixed, I'm going back to the garden hose, and will probably do a PBW soak after that each brew day.