Citra as a dry hop, how much?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grossy

Reaction score
I have two 5 gallon batches of pale ale that I need to dry hop today.

I have 2 oz of Cascade and 2 oz of Citra.

So there are two ways I can think of to go about this.

1 oz cascade and 1 oz citra per batch.
2 oz cascade for one batch, 2 oz citra for the other batch.
(I kind of like this idea because I have never used citra before, and I really want to get a feel for it, but I also do not want to ruin the beer.)

Would 2 oz of citra be to much, just over the top with tropical aromas?

Here is the recipe:

18.00 lbs Pale Malt 2-Row (USA)
3.00 lbs CaraPils malt,
2.00 lbs Caramel/Crystal Malt - 20L,
0.50 lbs Acid Malt,

1.00 oz Cascade (60min)
1.00 oz Cascade (25min)
1.00 oz Chinook (20min)
1.00 oz Citra (15min)
1.00 oz Cascade (10min)
1.00 oz Cascade (5min)

IBUs: 43​

If you have not brewed yet I would move the citra at 15 min down to the 5 min addoition ot get more flavor out of them or take it out all together and add it to the dry hop. If you have brewed I would go with the 2oz citra in one batch and 2 oz cascade in the other just for the contrast.

I used 1oz of citra as a dry hop in my pale ale. It worked good for me. I wouldn't use 2oz. Citra can be overpowering. But that's my personal opinion.

Two ounces isn't too much to dry hop a five gallon batch, I use at least that much myself and enjoy the result.

Of your options, I'd definitely go with the latter - use the Citra on one batch and the Cascade on the other. That'll let you appreciate the difference: the Citra will be tropical/mango and the Cascade will be citrus/grapefruit...

Cheers!