Cider Help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

splicer2012

Reaction score
Ok so ive been brewing beer for a couple of years and have done mead and a few batches of wine all of which turned out as expected. I started two batches of cider one sweet one dry. The first batch finished up i added potassium sorbate to kill off the yeast and then back sweetened with brown sugar and molasses it tasted perfect warm and still. After i adjusted it to taste i kegged it and force carbonated it. After it was done i sampeled it and it lost alot of the flavor and actually turned a little sour. Does anyone have any ideas why this would have changed?

My second batch finished in the primary a week ago and i racked it to secondary. Today i noticed some white scum on top and upon closer examination the entire top has a coat of white spider web looking mold. Ive never seen such a thing. Im very careful about sanitising. Do you all think its garbage or is it still salvageable?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Mold or flowers of wine, either way, I think you can save it. I had something similar in a cyser once, it looked sort of dry & powdery on top & just floated on the surface of the liquid. I thought it was flowers of wine & used Jack Keller's treatment for it: