Chronic infection problem

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

archthered

Reaction score
I have been brewing for about 4 years now and have much of my process down. Until recently I only had one infection in that time. However recently I haven't been able to make anything without it getting infected. The first one I figured was just a fluke, some say everyone get's one now and again so I didn't think much of it, just bleached the hell out of everything.

But then I made two more batches, more or less at the same time, and they both ended up infected. :mad: My fermentation chamber can hold two batches but only if I have at least one in a bucket instead of a carboy so I often do primary in a bucket then secondary in a carboy. I figured the infection was caused by my buckets, after all I am still using the same buckets I got when I started almost 4 years ago and it is well known that over time they develop small scratches etc that bacteria can hide in. OK so I threw out the old buckets and got new.

But then I made two more batches, one in an unused bucket and the other in a carboy, both cleaned with bleach, left to dry (over a day before brewing), and then cleaned with Star San just before use. As you probably guessed both got an infection. :( Well technically I'm not sure about the one in the bucket, I haven't tried it but the krausen looks weird, almost like it has dust or something on it, so either Omega's Wit yeast makes some really weird kausen or it's infected.

I have no real idea what the source of the infection is :confused: and I would like any help anyone may have in figuring this out. I am going to make a couple of suggestions/guesses, but feel free to disagree/tell me the idea is nuts and suggest things I haven't thought of.