Chest Freezer Kegerator Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cyka_Delik

Reaction score
Hello all! Glad to be a part of the forum. I'm pretty new to this whole deal so forgive my lack of knowledge here...but I am wanting to turn a little chest freezer into a Kegerator.

I'm doing a very basic set up. A single tap tower coming from the lid connected to a 1/6 keg with room to hold a second spare keg.

I've already done the measurements.
From the floor to the lid is 28 1/2 inches to 28 3/4 inches, so it's just barely tall enough. The lower part of the floor is 17 inch by 18 inch, so there's enough room for two 1/6 kegs.

My question though is is a temperature maintaining device necessary if there's a temperature adjustment knob already on the freezer?

I've already ordered all the other supplies, and was very pleased that the grand total for the freezer and everything was less than $300..but it looks like I may have to spend another $90 =\

I attached some pics to show you what I'm workin with.

image-1456435114.jpg

image-197848984.jpg

image-1370713158.jpg

Why not put a 5 gal bucket of water and a thermometer in it, plug it in and see what your working with?

Freezers are meant to freeze which is why we use a secondary temp controller. But, CaptnCully has a good point, put a bucket in and see where you are at, you might be able to save yourself some $

From the floor to the lid is 28 1/2 inches to 28 3/4 inches, so it's just barely tall enough. The lower part of the floor is 17 inch by 18 inch, so there's enough room for two 1/6 kegs.