Chest Freezer Kegerator Build

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bakersbrew

Reaction score
UPDATE - Well, I did it! Jump ahead to the end for pictures. If you were like me and dont know how to build anything, let me know and I will try to help out. Thanks to anyone who gave me advice.

alright, here is the situation -

i am very new to homebrewing, but i already love it. on my second batch i am already ready to keg. thus, i need a kegerator. i have decided to convert a chest freezer into a kegerator using the collar build method.

here is my problem. i am not very handy. i can build things and have in the past, but i sort of need some instruction. i have been searching everywhere for a definitive DIY for days but havent found anything with step by step instructions. everything is just a general description of the build.

can anyone help me out on this?

here is some info on what i want to do - i am going to use the magic chef 5.5 cu ft chest freezer. i only need to have two beers on tap at once. no more. here is the link to the chest freezer.

Magic Chef 5.5 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - MCCF5WBX at The Home Depot

any help you guys can give me would be much appreciated. i really want to build this bad boy. thanks

What part are you specifically looking for? Do you need help with the collar, faucet mounting, etc....

the collar build to start with. how is the collar attached to the freezer?

the other stuff i will deal with after i have built the collar.

I was concidering doing a keezer myself, but was concidering just doing a tower, rather than a colar, because that will be alot easier for me to acomplish. As long as the chest freezer is deep enough to close with the cornies with DCs attached, I think i can get away with no colar.