Cherry IPA.... What are your thoughts?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewboyrsl

Reaction score
So I'm looking to brew my second batch of beer and go all grains. I want to do a cherry Ipa and am not really sure what type (whole cherries, puree, or pie killing) to use. I'm planning on using the cherries in the second fermentation. here is what I have as my recipe I plan to use and you tell me what you think,

12 lbs 2 row
1 lb American crystal 60
1 lb Cherry wood roasted malt

1oz Cascade @ 90 min
half pound honey @ 90
1oz Cascade @ 60
1oz Cascade @ 30
1oz Cascade @ finish
10z Cascade dry hop

Yeast - not sure yet.

Any Suggestions at all. I'm a rookie and I'm looking to get a good bitterness with a good amount of floral and citrus. I want the cherry to be noticeable but not over powering. Thanks

Seems to me you'd want to cut down on both the crystal and the roasted malt. Maybe .5 C60 and .25 roasted malt.

If I'd do this, I'd also add a teaspoon or so of gypsum to the boil to bring out the hops (and perhaps counteract whatever vague sweetness you might get from the cherries in the secondary. Not much, I suspect, but I know I personally don't like IPAs with any kind of residual sweetness.)

I would pick a different base beer for a cherry beer, maybe a mild, a brown ale or a belgian table beer. The cascades are going to dominate the flavor and aroma over the cherries and roasted malt for sure.

Experimentation is great, if that's what you really want, then go for it.

Actually -- now that I think about it -- a cherry brown ale with Belgian yeast sounds interesting.