Cheese kits? Equipment?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AkTom

Reaction score
I’m about ready to irritate my wife... and start making cheese. I have been brewing for several years and have beer stuff. What do I need for cheese? Are kits a good way to start? Sorry for the noob questions. Most posts were old and some of the links weren’t active.
I also have a mini fridge and hygrometer. What other equipment do I need.
Thanks

I’m about ready to irritate my wife... and start making cheese. I have been brewing for several years and have beer stuff. What do I need for cheese? Are kits a good way to start? Sorry for the noob questions. Most posts were old and some of the links weren’t active.
Thanks

Good source, esp. when starting out. Nice people. Her book is a great intro.

Gianaclis Caldwell's books are excellent. She has a basic and an "artisan" book. She's great.

These folks are local (to me), and have a great selection of cultures, once you want to branch out more.

You have a good start on equipment. You could contact New England (first source) as they have good starter stuff. Thermometer, which I'm sure you have, some means to humidify is good - although it seems some people here have gotten by with lower humidity (meaning, 70 RH or so....I maintained 98% RH and 52F, very hard to pull off). pH measurement is helpful, but not necessary. Outside of that, a pot, some cheesecloth and a mold or two (not even necessary if you're making soft cheeses like goat chevre, etc.).

Good milk!

Anyway, some things to look at. I've been out for awhile, but I'm an experienced maker so feel free to ask away. Have fun!

Thanks. I need to source milk next. I’ll start out with a kit as soon as the milk situation is resolved.