Chamomile ?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

cpz28

Reaction score
I have the ingredients all ready to go for saision (5 gallons OG 68ish). I was planning on adding a bit of orange peel and some coriander. Additionally, I have chamomile I'd like to add. I've never used it before and don't know how much to use in order for it to not be overwhelming. The stuff doesn't really weigh anything so maybe what looks like a lot isn't all that much? So how much should I go with (going to throw in at the end of the boil)? Thanks in advance guys.

ArcaneXor

Reaction score
I have the ingredients all ready to go for saision (5 gallons OG 68ish). I was planning on adding a bit of orange peel and some coriander. Additionally, I have chamomile I'd like to add. I've never used it before and don't know how much to use in order for it to not be overwhelming. The stuff doesn't really weigh anything so maybe what looks like a lot isn't all that much? So how much should I go with (going to throw in at the end of the boil)? Thanks in advance guys.
I used one teabag of Celestial Seasonings Chamomile tea in my Witbier (at the end of the boil, I believe, and letting it steep for about 10 minutes before pulling it out).

michaelcalvin

Reaction score
I am thinking about brewing a saison with chamomile as the spice, so I am curious how yours turned out, how much chamomile you used, and how noticible it was. I would like mine to be light, but definently noticible. What kid of contribution does one teabag give?

flyangler18

Reaction score
Some may disagree with me, but I find that using chamomile in a Wit is patently unnecessary if you are using the bitter orange peel which, in addition to rounding out the bitterness, lends a soft herbal note while the citrus notes comes from the coriander.

Some comments,
Jason

sundaybrewingco

Reaction score