Cat 5 cable for automated valves

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

Rossbrau

Member
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Location
Fishers
Question from an electric-dumb brewer attempting an automated system...

Can I run the supply for my motorized valves through cat 5 cable? I'm using the valves on oscsys: https://www.oscsys.com/store/product/291?wwparam=1370178529

Supposedly they should be 12v only using 80 mA, so I don't see that there should be any issue but I wanted to check with you guys first. If I use a common ground wire for all the valves, I should be able to squeeze 3 valves into one standard cat 5 cable.

Thanks!
 

PLOVE

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2011
Messages
469
Reaction score
42
Location
Colton
Would work fine. I use CAT5 to activate "remote" 12V SSRs, and even take temp readings. No problems on runs of 50ft.
 

ClaudiusB

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
1,554
Reaction score
587
Location
El Paso
Question from a brewer attempting an automated system...
Can I run the supply for my motorized valves through cat 5 cable?

Thanks!
I use cat cables for most of my low voltage applications.
Example pic: Hop dispenser controlling a motor, solenoid and position sensor

100_1510.jpg
 

emjay

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
12,771
Reaction score
1,716
Location
Toronto
I use cat cables for most of my low voltage applications.
Example pic: Hop dispenser controlling a motor, solenoid and position sensor
Is that some sort of panel-mount RJ45 keystone jack? I'm looking for a tidy interface for the cables as between both of my panels (one at the ferm chamber which also serves as the master panel for my BCS; the other controlling the brewery by communicating with said master panel), I'm going to require 13-15 such jacks.
 

kcolby

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 11, 2009
Messages
81
Reaction score
18
Location
Houston, TX
are you using a single pair or bonding multiple pairs for valve control?
 

06vmi06

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Dec 29, 2011
Messages
57
Reaction score
1
Location
Glen Allen
My suggestion to you is that you use a Cat 5e cable for the extra shielding. It is not so important for the valves ect but if you start splicing runs so you can get multiple sensors/valves in the same cable then it will help with any associated noise. I am in the middle of building/designing my automated brew rig and am taking some consideration to wire runs and proximity to the pumps ect. Because I want to keep the class 1(power) wiring and class 2( signal wiring as separate as I can. Btw I am an EE with a concentration in microelectronics and now work as a consultant designing medium voltage and building distribution systems along with campus/building communication networks for whatever that's worth here. so if you need help feel free to hit me up and I can do what I can to help you trouble shoot if you need.

Happy brewing
 
Top