Carboy as a primary?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TacomaHomeBrew

Reaction score
I am wanting to use a 6.5 gal carboy as my primary to do a 5 gal batch. Is there any disadvantages to doing this as a primary?

Revvy said:
No that's typically the purpose of a 6 or a 6.5 gallon carboy, as a fermenter.

Thanks. I have only done 2 brews so I am still a newbie. I like the carboys so I can see what's going on.

Be very careful with that carboy (assuming it's glass.) Don't use a carboy handle, if you have one, to move it when full. Those are meant for use only when the carboy is empty. We don't want to hear about your injuries when the thing breaks.

That said. I use Better Bottles for primary and also have a bucket. I prefer the BB, it is like a glass carboy in that I can see what is going on inside without opening the vessel.

Good luck. I bet you will make a very good beer.

lots of disadvantages, they're heavy, difficult to move bc of shape unless you buy the handle, difficult to clean and sanitize (all relative to a 6G bucket).

Only advantages i see is you can see the beer fermenting, glass is a better conductor than plastic so easier to cool down.

IMO, use a bucket for primary, the carboy for secondary.

lots of disadvantages, they're heavy, difficult to move bc of shape unless you buy the handle, difficult to clean and sanitize (all relative to a 6G bucket).

As I stated previously, DO NOT move a full carboy with the handle. You will snap the neck off the carboy eventually!

P.S. as in a previous post. Always start your fermentation with a blowoff tube. You may not need it at all but it sure beats washing krausen off your ceiling!:D