carbonation suggestions for kegging?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dycokac

Reaction score
I'm new to kegging (first of the year). I have 2, custom built splitter, pretty much dispensing at 12-15ish PSI. I have 2 on tap right now and when i fill a glass i get a good head, but no residual bubbles out of the glass and it's kind of flat.

Doesn't bother me much because I'm a sipper and alot of times my beer goes flat on me anyway, but I'd like to have something others would be impressed with.

I am using 5 foot beverage lines from the kegs to my taps which are all inside the fridge, and i have about 4 foot of CO2 line from the bottle to the splitter and then about 3 feet for each line from the splitter to the kegs.

My current kegs have been at this 12-15PSI constantly for about a month and a half.

Any ideas on what's happening?

The force carb is what I would start with. My beer was flat and I had it at 25-30 PSI for about 3 days and actually overcarbonated it. The head was a little flat but the beer was a little much on the CO2. But if you check it daily w/the 30 psi and do a quick taste test you should be good. 12-15 PSI is a little higher than I would use w/only 5ft line but if it's working and you like the head that you're getting then leave it.

What is the temperature of your kegerator/keezer? Carbonation is the result of two factors, pressure and temperature. You might be too warm...
Or, you may have a bad poppet or lid causing a slight leak.

I was thinking a temp issue too. If the keg is nice and cold, the beer will cascade bubbles while it warms up slowly in the glass. I've also noticed that the glasses I keep in the freezer tend to result in beer that looks flat, but it still has good CO2 bite. The room temp glasses give me better bubbles.