Buy yourself a bench capper!!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boswell

Reaction score
I make all grain, extract whatever. I am not an expert by any stretch, but if you are starting out, brewing for years, whatever, and still using that 'winged' red capper, throw that thing out and get a Super Agata Bench Capper. I got mine on ebay for <$30 and I absolutely and pissed at myself for not getting one sooner.

Upgrades for beginners:
1. Bigger pot for full wort boils
2. Immersion chiller
3. Bench capper!!!!!!!

Yes on all accounts - but do not throw away the Wing capper as it can server as a backup if the bench capper busts during bottling.

I move pretty quickly in my hobbies so after bottling a few batches in PET I moved to glass and instantly bought both, a bench capper and a red wing capper as a backup, since some have said they busted theirs mid capping and had no backup. I don't ever want to bottle in PET again - screwing caps closed sucks and if not done with a glove on messes your skin up. Unfortunately, I need to bottle in PET today as I am out of glass bottles. Go figure lol.

The one thing I did wait long on is the immersion chiller and after getting one I felt like an ass waiting so long. It's sooo damn convenient!! No more waiting for a tub to fill, adding in ice packs, carrying the pot over and gently putting it in to avoid scratching the tub, circulating the water around the pot, waiting over an hour, then having to drain the tub and dry off the ice packs before returning them to the freezer. No way, never again!!