Burner experts

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

nystevecf

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
250
Reaction score
0
Well burner gurus I need some help. This is my home stove and from day one it burnt a dirty flame (I know, I know, I should have fixed it sooner).

I am attaching some pictures to help illustrate my problem. I have tried adjusting the screw inside the first picture im posting and it didnt help. Aside from that im kind of at a loss on what the next step should be other then calling an "appliance guy". But I will post other pics as well to see if there is something im missing. Thanks for any help!

stove2.jpg
 

Dwain

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
1,135
Reaction score
7
Location
Hill Country, TX
The only one I've seen do that was a stove that was in propane service that had a NG orifice in it. I suppose it has an electronic pilot, if not, is the pilot flame "dirty" also? I would say check the oriface to make sure it's clean/correct one.

Duh - picture of ignitor.
 

Fingers

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2007
Messages
4,178
Reaction score
50
Location
Lac du Bonnet
I'm no stove expert but in my experience what you've got there is a lack of oxygen. Have a look under the burner for some ports that let air in. See if you've got a bunch of crud or toasted bug parts clogging the inlet.
 
OP
nystevecf

nystevecf

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
250
Reaction score
0
I'm no stove expert but in my experience what you've got there is a lack of oxygen. Have a look under the burner for some ports that let air in. See if you've got a bunch of crud or toasted bug parts clogging the inlet.
Should I take the cover that is screwed down off? This happened since day one on all the burners and I bought it brand new if that helps.
 

kladue

Senior Member
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
2,318
Reaction score
60
Location
Turner, Oregon
Does the top lift off, or is the face plate removable, there are air shutters on the burner tubes next to the jet at the control knob end. Most makes of ranges use a sliding sleeve that is held by a sheet metal screw, loosen screw and move sleeve until there is just a touch of yellow at flame tip. To adjust flame heigth, turn screw in center of knob shaft to desired flame level.
 

beerocd

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2008
Messages
696
Reaction score
5
This happened since day one on all the burners and I bought it brand new if that helps.
Why wasn't this fixed day one then while it was under warranty? Your manual should have troubleshooting info - it's probably blocked up air passages like the other guys are guessing.

Go to the site below. They're great, you'll save money on parts, and their help section rocks. Even if you guess the wrong parts once or twice and just keep replacing till it works; you'll still come out ahead of calling in a service dude. Plus you'll learn something. :)
http://www.repairclinic.com/RepairHelp/RepairHelp.aspx

-OCD
 
OP
nystevecf

nystevecf

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
250
Reaction score
0
Why wasn't this fixed day one then while it was under warranty? Your manual should have troubleshooting info - it's probably blocked up air passages like the other guys are guessing.

-OCD
Because I was away on training for a year after it went in. I checked the manual and didnt see anything then adjusting the screw in the knob.
 

Amiaji

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
281
Reaction score
8
Location
Denver, NC
The only one I've seen do that was a stove that was in propane service that had a NG oriface in it.
Are you on propane or natural gas? The first thing you need to check is make sure you have the correct orifice in it. My stove came with a natural gas orifice in it and the propane one was in a bag taped to the gas valve on the stove.
 
OP
nystevecf

nystevecf

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
250
Reaction score
0
Propane, there werent any extra ... ok im gonna say it orifices with it. I guess I will ask the manufacturer which the stove is set up for. Thanks guys!
 

Dwain

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
1,135
Reaction score
7
Location
Hill Country, TX
The only one I've seen do that was a stove that was in propane service that had a NG oriface in it.
Yeah, if you're on propane, I'm sure it's the orifice. Call on of your local appliance parts place and they should hook you up. Let us know. Luck - Dwain
 
OP
nystevecf

nystevecf

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
250
Reaction score
0
A big thanks to all that helped, it is set up for natural. $160.00 later and it will be converted. Lesson learned, never even knew there was a difference or to ask at point of sale. All lessons cost money right :mug:
 

beerocd

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2008
Messages
696
Reaction score
5
Is $160 for parts and installation, or are you getting more than just orifices? Just curious, read all the way to the end of the thread and the answer isn't there.:(

Glad it's a relatively cheap fix for ya tho.

-OCD
 
OP
nystevecf

nystevecf

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
250
Reaction score
0
Is $160 for parts and installation, or are you getting more than just orifices? Just curious, read all the way to the end of the thread and the answer isn't there.:(

Glad it's a relatively cheap fix for ya tho.

-OCD
It is a whole conversion kit, they said they are normally like 25 but this one is 75 because of the model(of course). And he said he might knock some off the instal price if it isnt as hard as he thinks it will be. I would do it but it is a sealed top and I dont feel like breaking it.
 
Top