BruControl: Brewery control & automation software

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

oakbarn

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
1,847
Reaction score
365
Location
Bartonville
I have attached a pdf of my own instructions after I upgraded to v46B.

They may be of some help to others.....

I updated this on Aug 6, 2022 to reflect that you will need to use the correct new Port when creating your new Port 54+ Analog Elements to maintain your current wiring.
 

Attachments

  • Upgrading to v46B Firmware (3).pdf
    1.9 MB · Views: 0
Last edited:

CDCTx

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
91
Reaction score
18
Location
Washington, DC
Ok, reading zero. I’ll run a test to see if I can duplicate it.
In positive news, I found solder points on the board where I can control each relay externally, so my alternative may be to use a separate ESP32 interface to monitor and control pressure, then have one of its pins control a relay on this board. At least that frees up resources on each board.
 

CDCTx

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
91
Reaction score
18
Location
Washington, DC
Ran a test... was reading 5 no matter what. Quick debug reports its reading correctly but reporting incorrectly... will get the fix posted asap!
You beat me to it! My TinyPICO was also reading 0 or 5. I went back to v45 and I had normal values. I was just posting a reply when you responded
 

CDCTx

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
91
Reaction score
18
Location
Washington, DC
A few more connection fixes and I'm infact getting accurate enough PSI readings based on an old calibration and v45O. I'm so glad this has been sorted. No need for extra wiring for a secondary ESP32! I'll watch for your v46 fix. Thanks for following up!
 

CDCTx

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
91
Reaction score
18
Location
Washington, DC
OK... fixed. I was able to handle this one. Use v46C, updated in the FW package. Keep in mind there may be other bugs yet to discover!

Will get 46C for the MEGA, GC, and ESP8266 updated in the package soon.
Sounds good. I'll report anything I come across. I'm just glad the electronics confidence I've gained since getting BC wasn't destroyed by not getting this set up right.

At least 45O is a great fallback. You = awesome
 

CDCTx

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
91
Reaction score
18
Location
Washington, DC
@BrunDog TLDR, hysteresis for cooling and heating with 1-wire input aren't acting right on FW v46C.


There may be some communications issues regarding hysteresis devices with FW v46C. I was able to get my analog sensor set up and have my hysteresis device (solenoid) working great with Active High. Everything acts as expected when the target pressure is higher or lower than the measured pressure value (offset of 0.2); the solenoid turns on and off as it should, and BC shows "ON" and "OFF" accordingly.

But then I tried to set up my cooling and heating devices, controlled by a 1-wire probe. I put them both in Active High like the pressure setup. With my previous setup, the cooling offset just needed to be a positive number, and the heating offset needed to be a negative number. However, I am having trouble getting both cooling and heating to act right (and have BC show the proper status).

The Communications don't seem to be reflecting what the device is doing. Sometimes, I can see that the cooling relay is triggered (connected NO device is on, LED is on), but the Communications channel shows "?32=0," and BC says "OFF." Even when I change a value to make that relay physically switch off, Communications still says "?32=0," and if I switch it back on, the RX message remains "?32=0."

I tried Active Low configurations just to test what happens, but I see the same issues no matter whether the relay is triggered or not.

Here's an example process I took:

1) Set port 32 to the following properties:
Input: 1-wire temp probe (port 200).
Target: 80
Offset: 1
Active Low: OFF

The measured temperature is 77F.

The Communications show "TX !32,5,200,8000,8100,0,0" then "RX !32,5,200,8000,8100,0,0," indicating the transmission was received and confirmed. The ESP32 turns off the relay (the plugged-in fan is off, LED is off), and BC continues to show "OFF." The Communications show "?32=0." "OFF" makes sense here since cooling should only be enabled when the temperature reaches 81; at 77, this means the measured temperature is cool enough.

I then set the target to 50F, meaning it should switch on at 51F or higher. Since 77F is higher than 51F, I expect it to switch on. The Communications reflect the new target was sent, received, and confirmed, but the relay does not switch on. Communications show "?32=0." If I set the offset to -1, the relay then turns on, making it act as heating, even though the measured temperature is higher than 50F.

I've since put FW v45O back on the ESP32, and everything acts as expected. Both cooling and heating are set to Active High (or Active Low = OFF), and when my target temp is set lower than the measured temp (50F and 77F, respectively), cooling kicks on. Likewise, if my target temp is set higher than the measured temp, heating kicks on.

So this seems to be narrowed to FW v46C and not BC or its outgoing communications. Since my hysteresis device works properly with analog input on 46C, it could possibly be related to the 1-wire as input. I'll keep 45O for now since I want to use this for a new brew in a few days, but I'll check back about v46 updates. Thanks!
 

CDCTx

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
91
Reaction score
18
Location
Washington, DC
Posted 45D... actually didn't have time to test it, but found a potential bug. If you are willing to give it a try and report back, that will be cool. Otherwise we'll test and update you.
I can install the firmware but I can't get to the setup mode in Termite. Went back to 45O and it works, so 46D may have an issue with setup. I'll try updating over WiFi

Update: WiFi update didn't play nice. No connect. Going back to 45O now
 

exoticatom

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Messages
117
Reaction score
40
Location
Zürich
I have attached a pdf of my own instructions after I upgraded to v46B.

They may be of some help to others.....

I updated this on Aug 6, 2022 to reflect that you will need to use the correct new Port when creating your new Port 54+ Analog Elements to maintain your current wiring.
Thanks for the great work.
I briefly looked at the document, just be sure on a high level of what needs to be done:

1) collect all the information /details about analog ports that need to be changed. Make a visual backup. Make all other backups.
2) edit cfg file and change _only_ the wiring map as in your document. This change only works with 46x and the newest BC.
3) install the latest BC software which supports a new wiring map.
4) install the 46x firmware.
5) start all
6) delete old and create again changed elements based on backup in point 1.

Did I get your procedure correctly? I cannot change interfaces in cfg, do they really need to be recreated?

EDIT: I might notice an error in your instructions. For example, the wiring map for Wi-Fi should be Wi-Fi_FW_v46 (in your document is Wi_Fi_FW_v46 – all with underscores).
Also, it seems I have found an older link post that confirms my assumptions.
 
Last edited:

exoticatom

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Messages
117
Reaction score
40
Location
Zürich
Hi @BrunDog

I am using wifi shield over Arduino Mega. I was going through FW46 config steps, I just realized that my wiring map is set to default instead of to Wi-Fi for a long time.
However, I didn't notice any issues the past year using it like that.

If I try to correct it and change it now, having all my elements created, UI It gives a warning:
1659946324935.png



If I shut down the windows app, and change it in the brucfg file, the application starts without issues, and have it set correctly:
1659946430496.png


Do you see issues with it? Is that ok to change it like this, or I really need to recreate all elements from scratch?

Thank you for your answer.
 

oakbarn

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
1,847
Reaction score
365
Location
Bartonville
Thanks ..

EDIT: I might notice an error in your instructions. For example, the wiring map for Wi-Fi should be Wi-Fi_FW_v46 (in your document is Wi_Fi_FW_v46 – all with underscores).
Also, it seems I have found an older link post that confirms my assumptions.
Typo on my part (or stupid auto correct??). I will correct it. I do not use wi-fi for my Mega so I could not check it.
 

oakbarn

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
1,847
Reaction score
365
Location
Bartonville
Thanks .....

1) collect all the information /details about analog ports that need to be changed. Make a visual backup. Make all other backups.
2) edit cfg file and change _only_ the wiring map as in your document. This change only works with 46x and the newest BC.
3) install the latest BC software which supports a new wiring map.
4) install the 46x firmware.
5) start all
6) delete old and create again changed elements based on backup in point 1.
In a nutshell, yes.

I would also say that you need to look at the interface wiring maps (v45 vs v46) for the Analog Ports. You want to make sure that you use the new correct port for your A1 pin as that is how YOU wired it.

If you have your Brew Kettle Temperature probe wired to Pin A1, then the old Port was 101 on v45 firmware.

For a Mega, the new Port would be 55.

On a Grand Central, the new Port would be 68.

I always make a Backup of my brucfg anytime I Am changing Scripts as well. You can always revert to the backup if your changes fail to work.

If you have been following this trend of v46, you will notice that @CDCTx has switched between v45 and v46 as needed.

As a side note, anyone who upgrades to v46x, is a Beta Tester.
 

exoticatom

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Messages
117
Reaction score
40
Location
Zürich
v46B mega issues..

I upgraded (read try) to upgrade Arduino Mega from 45O to 46B_W as I am using WiFi shield.
I followed to the best of my abilities the procedure as in the previous posts.

1) changed wiring map element in XML; CFG,
2) upgraded mega to FW to v46B_W. without issues.
3) upgraded PC SW.
4) deleted and created new elements, but none of the new elements work.
Arduino is making the connection, that seems to be working. Nonanalog inputs and outputs are working.
But I can't make analog inputs OK.


Tested setup is:
NTC1 -> A0 old 100, new 54
NTC2 -> A1 old 100, new 55
old:
1659963711462.png


new:
1659963747811.png


new element:
1659963774169.png


but it's stuck into 655 value.
1659963826486.png

I had thermistor NTC10k connected to A0 -> 100, and created an Analog Input Element with 54. But the number on the element, where it should be temperature is not changing, it is stuck.

mega setup:
1659963930976.png

1659964033363.png

tried several inputs, but all are fixed, and I have NTCs connected to A0 and A1
1659964317659.png




I just enabled port54:
communication:
1659964588336.png

1659964622951.png

If I revert everything, FW; Software all works fine.


Any idea where to go with troubleshooting?
 

CDCTx

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
91
Reaction score
18
Location
Washington, DC
Posted 45D... actually didn't have time to test it, but found a potential bug. If you are willing to give it a try and report back, that will be cool. Otherwise we'll test and update you.
I just wired my second fermentation controller setup with another Robotdyn and loaded ESP32 FW v46D. All worked right from the get-go, so v46D seems to be stable, at least with 1-wire, analog input readings, relay controls, and BC comms.
 
Top