Brown Ale Recipe Feedback

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AaronSchalk

Reaction score
I have a handful of 1 gallon batches under my belt and wanted to develop my own recipe. I wanted to do a full bodied, American brown ale, and this is what I came up with:

0.900 lb American 2-Row (42.86%)
0.500 lb Maris Otter Malt (23.81%)
0.500 lb Crystal 60 (23.81%)
0.200 lb Special-B (9.52%)

0.20 oz Nugget Pellet @ 60 Minutes (Boil) (0.2 oz/Gal)
0.20 oz Amarillo Pellet @ 15 Minutes (Boil) (0.2 oz/Gal)

Original Gravity (OG): 1.053 (°P): 13.1
Final Gravity (FG): 1.013 (°P): 3.3
Alcohol by Volume (ABV): 5.21 %
Colour (SRM): 27.4 (EBC): 54.0
Bitterness (IBU): 47.4 (Average)

I've never worked with Amarillo hops before and I'm not sure how much citrus they bring to brew. I was focusing mainly on the grains, hoping for a medium body, but not too sweet beer. I was banking on the Special-B and Crystal for a bit of caramel/toffee backbone.

I'd appreciate any feedback or first impressions you'd be willing to share. Again, this is my first. Be gentle :)

|AAron

Looks pretty good to me. Never used Amarillo, but you won't get a ton of flavor from the 15 minute addition regardless, so I wouldn't worry too much about it.

Thanks for the feedback. I've tweaked the grains bill a bit. Malticulous, you're right, I think the crystal was a bit over-kill. I'm looking at the following now:

1.100 lb American 2-Row (52.38%)
0.600 lb Maris Otter Malt (28.57%)
0.200 lb Crystal 60 (9.52%)
0.100 lb Chocolate (4.76%)
0.100 lb Special-B (4.76%)

0.20 oz Nugget Pellet @ 60 Minutes (Boil)
0.20 oz Amarillo Pellet @ 15 Minutes (Boil)
0.10 oz Amarillo Pellet @ 0 Minutes (Boil)

I added an extra hit of Amarillo at flame out, hoping to boost the sweet orange on the aroma.