Brewing with Sorbet

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chandles

Reaction score
Hello, complete novice here, just about to embark on my third kit brew and I'm thinking of putting my own spin on this one in the laziest and lowest risk fashion as possible.

Basically I've got a Double IPA brew kit from extract, and I'm wanting to introduce a bit of fruitiness to the flavour. I've been looking up purees online and find they can be pretty expensive, and I've been looking about how to make my own and it looks like a pretty easy way to invite an infection unless I sterilise pretty much everything in my kitchen.

Here comes my lazy, cheap proposal; supermarket sorbets are like 33% fruit puree and the rest is just sugar and water. If I substitute the approximate sugar content of brewing sugar with completely melted room temperature Sorbet at primary ferment... Is that going to lead to a lovely Mango and Pineapple DIPA or are preservatives just going to kill off the fermentation?

I can't find the ingredients for the specific sorbet I was thinking of using online, but here's the ingredients of one that's similar.

Mango Purée (48%), Water, Dextrose, Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Invert Sugar Syrup, Concentrated Lemon Juice, Maltodextrin, Emulsifier (Mono- and Di-Glycerides of Fatty Acids), Modified Maize Starch, Citrus Fibre, Stabiliser (Xanthan Gum), Glucose.

Probably won't kill off the fermentation, but you're adding a lot of stuff to your beer that doesn't add anything. I'm sure you kind find a higher quality sorbet somewhere. I have the luxury of working in a restaurant and I have worked with sorbets in my beers before, but those are just fruit puree & sugar.