Brewing lager at too high a temp. + banana smell!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cliffhanger

Reaction score
First off I'd like to introduce myself! This is my first post ever. I've just been lurking for a while mainly and read most of the FAQs and all that before I started brewing - All very helpful so cheers all!

Right so, the other week I kicked off my first ever brew after buying my kit - Muntons Gold Continental Pislner. I had a mate that bought an ale kit with his brew kit, which turned out amazing via minimal effort from him, so I thought I'd give it a go with a lager instead.

I'm brewing in my cupboard in the kitchen in my student halls (yehh) and if anyone has experienced these places, they are very well heated (overheated in fact) and I don't have access to the thermostat -

I was thinking when I got the kit that the temperature would be generally around 21 celsius (70ish fahrenheith) as standard, but my brew has been sat there at 24 (74 farenheit) pretty much steadily for about 10 days, and there is nothing I can do about it!

I have also noticed a really strong fruity banana smell coming out of my cupboard - it's quite pleasant but I'm not sure if my beer will taste good lke that.

Basically my questions to you guys are:

What is the worst thing that happens with a lager brewed at too high a temp?

Whats the deal with the smell of bananas and what will it do to my beer?!

Cheers,
Cliffhanger
:fro:

First of all, welcome!