Brewing Disaster

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mamies

Reaction score
Hi All,

Just having a little vent. Everytime I brew a specific recipe it just ends in disaster.

I have been brewing for roughly 5 years now and 2 years of them have been only brewing all grain so I have the procedure down fairly well on my equipment.

My 3rd AG brew in I decided to try to make an IPA (some of my favourite brews are IPAs). Anyway I got the grains in the mash tun when my thermometer went all screwy and was displaying temperatures of 500 and 600 C. Needless to say the water temperature was wrong and it left me with an extremely bitter beer that was a little terrible. I scratched this up to a rookie error.

After another 5 or 6 brews I thought I would give it a go again. This time the brewday went well and it was fermenting really well. I added my dry hops a couple of days in and all seemed fine. When I went to check on the beer next time there was barely any more beer left. I had somehow cracked where the spigot cobnects to the fermenter. I was however able to bottle 2 longnecks out of the whole batch.

The 2 longnecks were extremely tasty and some of the best beers I have ever made.

So I decided to brew this brew again today. As I got it all into the fermenter and as I was carrying it to my fermenting fridge, I tripped spilling roughly 10L onto the floor. I was able to quickly pick the drum back up saving half of the batch.

Anyway I am hoping that this batch goes alright from now on.