Brewers Best beer kit not fermenting. Please help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Davezr2

Reaction score
Pitched the yeast 72hrs ago and still no bubbling. This is my first attempt in making beer. I followed the instructions to a "T" watched my temperature like a hawk. Fermentation temperature is 66F and does not fluctuate more than one degree either way. Can I still save this?

What are you fermenting in? If you're using a bucket, those lids can leak and you may not see any bubbling in the air lock. The only real way to tell is to take a hydro reading... Good luck!

Are you fermenting in a carboy or bucket? Can you see any signs of fermention?

Sometimes the bucket seals leak and you don't see any bubbles.

If you have a hydrometer check the gravity and see if it has changed. If it has you are fermenting, if not pitch another batch of yeast!

cheesehed007 said:
What are you fermenting in? If you're using a bucket, those lids can leak and you may not see any bubbling in the air lock. The only real way to tell is to take a hydro reading... Good luck!

I'm using a five gallon bucket. You know what. I don't think there is a seal on the lid. I can smell the fermentation. Just didn't see the bubbling. So I just figured. I'll have to check out the SG. Thx!

Davezr2 said:
I'm using a five gallon bucket. You know what. I don't think there is a seal on the lid. I can smell the fermentation. Just didn't see the bubbling. So I just figured. I'll have to check out the SG. Thx!

Should I transfer to a glass carboy?

I like the carboy, for the sole reason that you can see what is happening without opening it up. But they are heavy and do break! The more I brew the more I like the bucket, just make sure the seal is good. ;)

Should I transfer to a glass carboy?