Brett B questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DTrain24

Reaction score
So long story short, a US05 ale didnt finish, stalled at 1.022 for days, i believe because i pitched too hot.

So I pitched a brett brux (WLP650) vile that my homebrew shop gave to me as it was expiring a month ago.

I have never used brett before, after warming it up it did not smell pleasant in the vile, it smelled like the bottom of an unfinished beer bottle that has been sitting in a garage for a week. But that isnt far from some of the aroma descriptions I am reading about.

So my questions are, is this normal for the vile to smell? What should i expect next?

I had a spunding valve on, pressure fermenting as I usually do, will i need to leave that on for the duration of the brett? Or can i remove it? How much Co2 will be produced by the brett?

Thanks for any help!

Two issues for you:

1. How do you know your beer stalled and didn't finish at an appropriate FG? What was the OG?

2. Do you know what brett is and what you are going to be introducing into your equipment? Specifically, do you have a plan to eliminate it from your equipment?

So long story short, a US05 ale didnt finish, stalled at 1.022 for days, i believe because i pitched too hot.

So I pitched a brett brux (WLP650) vile that my homebrew shop gave to me as it was expiring a month ago.

I have never used brett before, after warming it up it did not smell pleasant in the vile, it smelled like the bottom of an unfinished beer bottle that has been sitting in a garage for a week. But that isnt far from some of the aroma descriptions I am reading about.

So my questions are, is this normal for the vile to smell? What should i expect next?