Branching Out

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mozart

Reaction score
I'm still new to homebrewing with 4 batches brewed, two with a friend, and two flying solo. So new, in fact, that 3 of the four batches are currently fermenting, with one batch in bottles for a little over a week. Yes, the bottled batch feels a little undercarbed, but otherwise tastes great! And yes, I understand that another week or two in the bottle may well improve both carbonation and taste.

I'm thinking of trying a Koelsch next, and I'd like to turn to this forum for a little advice. I'd like to branch out by trying to create my own recipe by tweaking an existing one. For everyone's information, I've been doing extract batches with steeping grains.

I found an all-extract recipe for a Koelsch online, but since I'm used to steeping grains I'd like to continue with that process.

After playing around with an online recipe calculator, I think the following might make a decent Koelsch that the online calculator at least seems to think is true to style, but since it's my first try at tweaking rather than following a given recipe exactly, I thought I'd ask the community for feedback.

Here goes:

Batch size = 5 gallons, 2.5 gallon partial boil (60 minutes).

0.75 lb. Crystal 15 (steep at 155 degrees for 20 minutes)
5.5 lb. Extra Light DME (3 lbs. at beginning of boil, 2.5 lbs @ 15 minutes)
1.0 oz. Hallertau - 4% AA (60 minutes)
1.0 oz. Saaz - 3.5% AA (15 minutes)
One Whirlfloc tablet (15 minutes)
San Francisco Lager Yeast (WLP810)

Brewing procedure:

Bring 2 quarts steep water to 155 degrees in saucepan, steep grain for 20 minutes. While grain is steeping, bring 2 gallons of water to boil in 20 quart pot.