Bottling from keg with beergun

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kaz

Reaction score
I've been aging an Imperial Stout for about 8 months now in secondary, added some oak etc. Now I'm ready to bottle this up in 32oz swing tops for some bottle conditioning. I'm planning on using DME to prime and adding about 1/4 pack of S-05 to the priming solution to make sure there is some yeast in there.
Question is, I'd like to cut out as much oxygenation risk as possible so I'd like to bottle out of a keg using my beer gun set up. Does this sound like it can work since I'll be adding yeast..

1. Boil DME in water, cool and add yeast.
2. Dump priming solution into keg.
3. Rack RIS onto priming solution and give it a stir to mix
4. Cap off keg and hook up to gas.
5. Use the beer gun to purge bottles and fill

It seems simple enough, just wanted to make sure I'm not missing something stupid here.

If you're not pressed for time, you could instead force carbonate in the keg, forgo the priming sugar, and bottle with the beer gun in a week or so. High ABV can make it a challenge to natural carb.

Roed Haus Brewery

Personally I wouldn't go to all that trouble. If you already have a keg I would put some CO2 in the keg to form a blanket. Siphon the stout into the keg and put the lid on and purge the O2 out. Force carbonate it and then bottle with your beer gun. You won't have any sludge in the bottom of the bottles and nobody will be able to tell the difference.