Bottles with easily removable labels

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

knappster

Reaction score
I thought I would start a post based on my findings of different breweries beer bottles which had labels which were easy to remove. This is my first time brewing and I just cleaned labels off of 50+ bottles a couple nights ago by just soaking them in hot water. I know there are easier methods out there, but I didn't have any oxyclean and didn't want to be filling the bottles I will be drinking out of with bleach. I welcome others to post their experiences with which bottles have easily removable labels so that we can think about it next time we're at the liquor store.

Easy
Schlafly
HoeGaarden
Bass

Moderate
Michelob
Boulder

PIA!!!
Flying Dog
Great Lakes

I didn't even bother trying he Samuel Smith's or Modelo Negro bottles, due to the foil near the lip. I will be emptying some Samuel Adams shortly and I should be able to update my findings.

Sam Adams is hit or miss... I think their seasonal beers are harder than their "main" ones...

Red Hook are the easiest I've found, the labels are usually off the bottles after soaking for an hour in water and oxiclean.

Ditto on Sam Adams, some will float off with just a water soak, some will need to be scraped off after a 3 day oxy bath. Most of the local breweries bottles in my area are very easy to remove.

I had assumed that the micro brewers like flying dog, boulder, and great lakes would be easy as pie. I was way wrong.

It's Sam Adams Boston Lager btw. I just assumed the breweries would use the same adhesive on everything... Silly me.