Bottled Larger, is it doing its thing properly?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrCat

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm very new to the homebrew thing but have a few brews on the go now.

My question: I bottled up some Coopers Australian Larger on the 3rd of this month, I syphoned it from the fermenter into a pressure barrel with my priming sugar in it and left it overnight before bottling the next morning.

The bottles have been 18 to 24 degrees C, tho occasionally maybe 16 in the night. I thought that should be warm enough but being new I thought they wouldn't clear so quick as they have. I have some of the batch in PET bottles and they are firming up a bit but not solid, and some of the batch in clear glass so I can see what's going on (the PET's are brown). I'm wondering as they are so clear whether I should gently stir up the sediment again, will this aid the second fermenting, or should I just leave them to it and comtinue my plan which was to leave them a few weeks in the warm before moving them to the porch where they'll get more like 5 to 10 degrees C conditioning...

I hope that makes sense, yes I'm new :D
Any advice most welcome!
Cheers folks.

Its only been 5 days. Let them go for another week and a half at least. Being clear isn't a problem. There is microscopic stuff going on in the bottle. If you want to rouse them then go ahead, it won't hurt.

When you want to try them AFTER your 2 weeks put one or two in the fridge for a day or two so that the CO2 dissolves into the beer. You'll be able to tell if they are ready for cold conditioning at that point. You want to make sure the beer is carbonated correctly before putting it in cold storage.