Bottle Conditioning vs Kegging

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrgrimm101

Reaction score
Excuse my noobish question, but I was curious about something. I've no experience with kegging and am currently bottling everything. I understand that the beer has to sit in bottles for a couple weeks in order to obtain the appropriate about of carbonation, and also to "condition", which I assume is to mellow out any harsh flavors and give the beer more time to become more drinkable.

My question is, when a homebrewer kegs and forces carbonation in their beer instead of bottling it, what is the state of the beer? How would it differ from "bottle conditioned" beer? I assume it's fresher, as it can be drank sooner, but does it taste much different? Does the keg have to sit and "condition"? Are there any pros/cons to bottle conditioning as opposed to kegging?

Thanks in advance.

What a question. Part of the reason bottle conditioned beer needs to condition is because it requires some time to actually carbonate the beer. Also, when you add priming sugar and bottle the beer, on a much smaller level, the yeast go back through the fermentation cycle. They acclimate, reproduce, ferment, flocculate, etc. During this process the yeast are producing esters, phenols and fermentation by-products just as they did when you initially fermented. The yeast need a little time to clean up their waste, for lack of better words.