Bottle Conditioning Barrel aged Beers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kylehaglock

Reaction score
I recently recieved my first 10 gallon americon oak barrel for xmas. I want to barrel age a belgian triple at about 10% for around 2 months (if neccesary). My question is do i need to re-pitch yeast before i bottle condition my beers? I have never done this before, and am not sure the best way to go about this. So i just add more of the same liquid ? Will the addition of fresh yeast result in a higher carb level, or just faster carbing up, due to the freshness of the yeast and the same amount of sugar? I searched for the answer to this question but came up empty. Anyone with knowledge of this process would be greatly appreciated!!!
Thanks in advance!!!

The process is not exact, as it will vary according to the health and strain of the original yeast, alcohol level, length of aging, etc. But there is good information in Yeast (White & Zainasheff) pages 115-118 about bottle conditioning. They discuss yeast re-pitching rates of between 1M-5M cells/ml in filtered beer, depending on the age and alcohol level of the beer.