Bock's and lagering. Help....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dougler13

Reaction score
So one of my brew partners decided he wanted to do a Bock. I have limited experience with these but from what I gather you use a lager yeast and then the beer itself at some point needs to be lagered.

So my question is at what point in the ferment do you need to drop the temp to lagering temps and for how long? Also what temps are best for lagering Bock's 45 - 50? Also this particular beer is a variation of a Dubel Bock I believe. It has a starting gravity of 1.087 and uses 9.25 pounds of LME.

He has already bought all the ingredients before I realised what he was getting us into(he knows less than I do about this stuff) and our brew date is friday so any help on getting the details ironed out is much apreciated.

Thanks .

Well, if you're brewing on Friday, you need to make the starter yesterday! Make the starter ASAP, because cooler ferments require more yeast and that's a BIG beer besides.

Depending on what kind of yeast you have, you'll want to ferment the bock at approximately 50 degrees for about 10 days. Then, if you're doing a diacetyl rest, you can raise it to room temperature for 48 hours. After the diacetyl rest, you'll rack and then begin the lagering process. I lager at 34 degrees for 6-12 weeks.

Here's some good reading on lagers: http://www.howtobrew.com/section1/chapter10.html

Edit- beaten by BikenBrew! The wiki link is actually much better!