Blueberry Wine Fail?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FranDeVille

Reaction score
I am new to this glorious hobby and think I have my first fail in blueberry wine. Everything I've read here and on other boards have been very helpful so far, but am at a loss with this one. Here's the recipe I used and what I tried:

Vintners Harvest Blueberry fruit wine base 96 oz., ingredients as per can label for 5 gallons except used Lalvin D47 yeast -- homebrew guy I bought base from didn't have VH specified yeast he said D47 is the same.

Followed process instructions on label EXCEPT did not sprinkle yeast as base label says, I prepared as per yeast packet instruction. I splash oxygenated by spoon and pour to/from another sanitized primary for a good 5 minutes. SG was 1.108 and temp was steady at 78°F

Capped and installed airlock then opened to air with cloth cover when no bubbles after a week despite daily stir. It had a rotten egg smell that research said might be stuck fermentation. At this point after reading about stuck/stalled fermentation, I sprinkled another packet of same yeast thinking maybe I'd pitched wrongly or used dud packet in addition to not giving yeast enough oxygen. Bubbles next day, so stirred gently top half of must as per label instruction and left under cloth cover only. Daily stir and hydrometer reading falling slowly for the next week. Rotten egg smell also gone.

I worried about leaving this so open with pets, teens, spouse about (brew station is a corner of the kitchen), so decided to rack to 5 gal carboy at this point. SG was 1.082 and falling slowly each day, I could see the yeast gasses in the must too so figured I solved my problem and was back on track, albeit slower than ideal.