Big Beer! Fermentation.... WOW

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

opXus

Reaction score
So I decided that I wanted to make a big beer. I have maybe 8 total batches under my belt. 1 of them extract, the last 7 being all grain. (yes im a beginner) The largest beer i made ended up around 6.5%. (sorry I forget the OG). I wanted something big so 11/10 I brewed up a nice belgian tripel with an OG of 1.088. This morning I woke up like a kid on Christmas and looked in the closet where it is fermenting. Nice krausen and its bubbling away.

Tonight it is going nuts. I find myself opening the closet door just to watch the amazing process called fermentation. Am I the only one amazed by this, to the point where I may just watch the bubbling from the blow off tube and watching all the yeast/trub floating up and down in the beer?

I am absolutely amazed by the big beer fermentation! Sorry, this might be a very NOOBISH post!

Thanks for all the good info and ideas etc from this forums members! I find homebrewers are almost all friendly and VERY helpful!

:ban::tank::rockin:

Agreed Fermentation Rocks I love watching too! I just took a gravity reading of my Honey Tripel tonight my OG was also 1.088 and the reading tonight was 1.010 so I'm a bit higher then I wanted to be at 10.25% now but it should mellow out :mug: Cheers

So I decided that I wanted to make a big beer. I have maybe 8 total batches under my belt. 1 of them extract, the last 7 being all grain. (yes im a beginner) The largest beer i made ended up around 6.5%. (sorry I forget the OG). I wanted something big so 11/10 I brewed up a nice belgian tripel with an OG of 1.088. This morning I woke up like a kid on Christmas and looked in the closet where it is fermenting. Nice krausen and its bubbling away.