Best hops for Boston area?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bluechicken

Reaction score
I'm planning on planting a few hops rhizomes this spring, and live in the Boston, MA area. My local supply store is selling the following varieties:

Cascade, Chinook, Kent Golding, Mt. Hood, Nugget, Sterling and Williamette.

I'm a beer brewing novice, and was wondering if anyone was familiar with these hops and might recommend one or two over the others.

Thanks

Cascade grows pretty much anywhere, so I'm sure it will become a staple in your garden. The yield alone makes it well worth it.

As for another two...Nugget is a good grower, and the two years I grew Willamette, it worked out fairly well. I'm not in Boston, but hops aren't very picky about where they grow. As long as you have 120-150 frost-free days, you'll get hops.

Stay away from Mt. Hood and K.G. Those two are fairly tough to grow unless you have a little experience and a green thumb. My Mt. Hood is in it's third year and I'm still having trouble getting more than a few ounces out of it.

Cascades grow well here
My Mt Hoods do well but I have a bit of a green thumb.
Fuggles do OK but the flowers are pretty small, might gun those and put another type in their place

Getting CTZ this Spring

Cascades grow well here
My Mt Hoods do well but I have a bit of a green thumb.
Fuggles do OK but the flowers are pretty small, might gun those and put another type in their place

Getting CTZ this Spring

Awesome, I was just considering this when I learned a nearby place was selling the rhizomes (beer & wine hobby bluechicken?). Does it take much work to get them going around here babalu? I'm thinking nugget, cascade, and/or chinook if that helps.