Belgian Pale Ale - yeast substitute

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redone17

Reaction score
I was hoping to brew a Belgian Pale Ale for a nice session beer this weekend and it turns out the suggested yeast strains are out of season...go figure.

What is a good alternative/substitute for White Labs WLP515 (Antwerp Ale) or Wyeast 3655 Belgian Schelde?

Can I get away with Safbrew T-58 Dry Yeast? Or is there a better dry yeast option out there? I have never used dry yeast before. I tend to make starters with a single pack/vial.

I'd like to get that similar fermentation characteristics.

Thanks for your help in advance.
CP

I have a split BPA batch going with 1388 and 1214 right now. I can't comment on how they taste right now, of course, but I've used 1388 for similar beers before with great results. I like 1388 as it's lightly fruity, complex, and fairly low on the phenols in beers like this. If you want something with a more phenolic flavor, look to 3522; it's well balanced in this regard.

Really, though, most Trappist and Abbey style yeasts will work well in this kind of brew. Just pick the one that will work best with your setup and temps, or if you have good control, whichever you prefer by flavors. I haven't used WLP515, but it's can't be too far off from some of these others. It's supposed to be pretty clean, no? Maybe 1762 at the middle or lower end of its range would be a good sub. It's a great yeast, and more subtle than most others in its flavor contribution.

Thanks for the quick response!

I think that 3522 will work out just great and my local shop is getting an order in today or tomorrow.

I'll report back on how it turns out!