Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

efigaro18

Reaction score
Hello all!

I am not only new to this forum, but I am new to home brewing as well! I have brewed a couple starter kits from Northern Brewer, but have decided to try my hand at making my own recipe to make the beer I want. I have come up with a recipe through looking at the style guidelines, forums, and other recipes I have found on the web, however I am brewing only a 1 gallon batch and am unsure of the ratios to use... I also have some pretty beginner questions I would love feedback on...

The recipe is as follows for my Belgian Tripel:

2lbs Briess Pilsen Light LME (84%)
8 oz clear candi sugar (16%)

0.25 Czech Saaz @ beginning of boil
0.28 oz Magnum @ last 10 minutes

Yeast: 1/2 pkg WLP530

According to BrewFather (the app I used to develop this recipe), my OG, FG, SRM, IBU, and ABV are all within style guidelines, however I do have some questions. For my recipe I do not currently have any steeping grains included in the grain bill- even though my SRM is within range, is it necessary to add this? Additionally, this is my first time using liquid yeast, so I want to make my first starter. Would someone be able to help me ratio wise with this? Also, is yeast nutrient necessary to add to a starter? Should I pitch more than 1/2 pack of yeast into the start for my 1 gallon batch?

I would also appreciate any and all feedback on my recipe itself, if you think I should adjust any amounts of anything!

Thank you everyone! Cheers!

Last edited:

VikeMan

It ain't all burritos and strippers, my friend.
Reaction score
0.25 Czech Saaz @ beginning of boil
0.28 oz Magnum @ last 10 minutes

You'd be better off switching these varieties. Magnum is pretty much a bittering hop without much in the way of desirable aromatics. But watch the computed IBUs....Magnum is a high alpha acid hop,