Beer is flat

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alienist

Reaction score
I’ve made several good extract batches since I started brewing again in 2015. However the last two batches I’ve made with my son have no carbonation even though we followed the instructions exactly with the right amount of bottling sugar. I’m thinking it may be that the temperature after we bottled it may be the culprit as we stored the bottles in his basement. By the way we made two batches in the spring and early summer and they turned out fine.
Two question:
Is there any way to rescue this batch?
How do we prevent this from happening again?
Many thanks for any insights you can give us.

I’m thinking it may be that the temperature after we bottled it may be the culprit as we stored the bottles in his basement. By the way we made two batches in the spring and early summer and they turned out fine.
I also bottle condition in my basement. Over the last couple of winters, I have been putting the bottles in a cooler filled with 70F water for about a week. I generally adjust the water temperature twice a day. Previously, when the basement ambient temperature was around 60F, it would take longer (3 to 4 weeks, perhaps depending on yeast strain) for the beers to carbonate.

For a corrective action, @davidabcd is asking some good questions. With some additional information, a more precise corrective action may be possible.

OK, I had to go over to my son's house to get this info.
Initial brew 12/5/21, Northern Brewer Brickwarmer Holiday Ale.
Initial sg 1.070
Racked 12/19 into a carboy, sg 1.021
Bottled 1/9/22 sg 1.020, mostly quart Corona bottles and some 22 oz and 12 oz bottles, crown caps.
Stored in basement, temperature probably in mid 60's F to 70.