Beer in Bottom of Keezer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
2nd new thread in three days. Yes, I am new to this and I thank everyone in advance for your patience.

Originally I was dealing with a flat beer issue with the yeast not combining correctly with the corn sugar in the keg. The solution was to keep the keg connected to the co2 tank set at 12psi in a keezer for a couple of weeks to let it carbonate that way. Friday night my tank was registering 500psi (kept inside the keezer) and Saturday morning it was at the same level. I was out of town last night and checked it first thing when I got home today and I found my co2 tank to be completely empty and an inch of beer in the bottom of my Keezer. I am hoping they are linked to each other. I am pretty sure the beer was leaking out of the liquid ball lock because that is where most of the liquid on top of the keg was. Any thoughts? Faulty ball lock, o-rings, hose not cinched tight enough?

Thank you in advance.

On yeah I'd definitely say they are linked!!! Lol you'll of course need to get a full co2 tank. I'd inspect all your connections especially the suspected leaker. Connect the new co2 tank hit the system with pressure and spray some sort of liquid leak detect on all the connections. I use a mix of starsan/water in a spray bottle.
Sorry you lost your beer!
Cheers

if I was to bet what is wrong I would say the liquid side poppet is the cause. as if it leaks the valve on your tap wont hold back that much pressure. with that being said that is where I would start looking.

Also, if you're using picnic taps, be careful where you put them. If you set them on top of the kegs and don't have much clearance, when you close the lid it could open them up.