Beer has not carbonated

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

steturbo

Reaction score
I have barrelled by brew for the 1st time and after 4 weeks it has not carbonated I have also tried injecting Co2 and it's still not carbonated, shall i put it back in my fermenting bin add more sugar and yeast and when it's ready prime and barrel again or does any one have other quicker solutions that would work better please advise

It's in a 40pint plastic pressure barrel that I bought from the local brew shop

disclaimer: I don't really know what I'm talking about.

I've never used a pressure barrel before, but if you tried using priming sugar and forced carbonation with no success then it sounds like your barrel has a leak.

No the barrel definitely has not got a leek it's brand new I have transferred it into another barrel and primed it again if that does not work I will be drinking shandy for a long time

What's the temperature while it's carbonating? How long was it in the fermenter before you put it in the barrel? How much priming sugar did you use?

It was in the fermenting bin for 2 weeks at 20/22 degrees C, then I put in the barrel and used 3ounce of sugar and left at room temp for 2 weeks then I put it in the fridge for 2 weeks then just as my friends came went do get a pint and it was flat so I'm confused, it's a blonde larger very nice but no fizz

Hopefully this is a stupid question, but there was yeast initially and it did ferment, right? Aside from that, no reason why it shouldn't have carbonated. Not enough time for so much east to flocc out that it wouldn't carb, your temps are good, that's enough sugar for the batch size, and so on.