Beer clarity questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lotusworker

Reaction score
So I just started brewing all grain and switched over to kegging at the same time thanks to my new garage.

I am still waiting to put my new stc-1000 together this weekend, but have been plugging in the freezer to keep it cold. I checked the beer after 2 weeks in there with a 11 psi. The beer is not very clear at all. I used Irish moss, but thinking that maybe something else could be used before kegging.

The beer taste is pretty good. Do I need to just be more patient and wait for consistent temps or could I add something the next batch.

Your beer will indeed clear with more time in the keg, or even when using bottles. Consistency in the temperature will help. I keep my kegs in a fridge around 38F. For a new keg, I set the PSI at 25 lbs for the first 48 hours, and then set to 12 PSI for dispensing. This has worked for mid gravity Ales that I brew often.

I also cold crash around 34F for 48 hours before kegging. I would like to believe this helps to speed up clarification. Cheers!

Remember that you're drawing from the bottom of the keg, where whatever gunk you transferred will ultimately settle. The first glass or two may not be very clear.

Cold crashing the primary for 5-7 days prior to racking to the keg will help to clear the beer faster and minimize the amount of garbage accumulating at the bottom of the keg. Also, whenever you move the keg, you may stir things up a bit. It might take a few days or several days to clear again.

Gelatin fining will get you clear beer faster, but it doesn't do anything that time won't do for you. Just takes a few extra days at near freezing temps.