beer bottle size

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

beekeeperman

Reaction score
Anyone using the 22 oz. size beer bottles. Pros/cons ?
I'm new at this but thinking larger bottles = less cleaning, less money,less caps and capping.
Besides, can't have just one12 ozer can we ?

CUrchin

Reaction score
I use 12/16.9 and 22 oz.

Disadvantages of larger bottles, IMO:
-Take a little longer to carb.
-Sometimes for something really strong (Barleywine/RIS) I prefer to not have 22 oz of beer.
-They don't fit on the upper shelf of my fridge.

Jayhem

Reaction score
We can get a lot of beer in VA in 22oz bottles so I probably have 24 of those large bottles.

The only disadvantage I see is if you make a 10% abv Belgian or DIPA by the time you finish 22 oz of it the last 8oz are room temp, at least if you like to sip and enjoy your beer instead of just getting drunk.

MarshmallowBlue

Reaction score
I usually do a mix of whatever I have laying around (usually mostly 12s and 22s). Nothing wrong with bombers for sure though. I'm really growing on 16oz bottles but they are tougher to find than bombers and 12s.

TheVenerableMead

Reaction score
I get the pint (16oz) bottles from my local homebrew shop. They're just the right size for me. Bottling with these costs about 1.5x more than their 22oz bottles. I'm also saving my 12oz bottles for bigger brews. 16 or 22oz of barleywine is a bit of a challenge for maintaining my steadiness... and dignity.

WI_Wino

Reaction score
I have a small collection of quart bottles that take normal caps. Love them for ordinary gravity beers. Probably would not put a > 7% ABV beer in one though.

mrdauber64

Reaction score