Batch VS Fly What is The Big Diff.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slnies

Reaction score
So her it is. My next batch I will Batch Sparge. However I have never tried it before now. So I did some research on the forum here, and I came up with some pros and cons. They are:
Batch: 1. Faster
2. easier to attain eff.
3. More fiddling with adding batches of water.
4. requires HLT.

Fly: 1. Easy one step process
2. requires HLT
3. Takes longer.
4. more difficult to zero in.
So, does this sound right so far?
Now that is out of the way What am I missing and what are the supporting arguments either way? Thank you all for your time and considerate thoughts.

S.:drunk:

I have to disagree with one statement each:

Batch: 2. easier to attain eff.
Perhaps it's easier to achieve a consistent efficiency if you batch sparge, but sparge method alone does not impact efficiency as much as other factors such as mash thickness, pH, temperature, and grain crush.

No way. It's really easy to screw up a fly sparge - channeling, run-off rate, grain bed condition, sparge water introduction method, and some others I'm sure I'm forgetting can present some pretty big hurdles to overcome.

Yuri_Rage said:
I have to disagree with one statement each:

Batch: 2. easier to attain eff.
Perhaps it's easier to achieve a consistent efficiency if you batch sparge, but sparge method alone does not impact efficiency as much as other factors such as mash thickness, pH, temperature, and grain crush.

No way. It's really easy to screw up a fly sparge - channeling, run-off rate, grain bed condition, sparge water introduction method, and some others I'm sure I'm forgetting can present some pretty big hurdles to overcome.