Batch Sparge Speed/Problems

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

raceskier

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been brewing AG for a few years now.

My mashtun is a 10gal Rubbermaid cooler with up until now a stainless braid manifold. I had been having some minor issues with the manifold. I have maimed it from repeated handling and was beginning to have some minor stuck sparge problems. I batch sparge exclusively.

So, I decided, why not switch to a false bottom, for a more bullet-proof setup, at least handling wise? I got the nice stainless steel domed perforated false bottom unit, plumbed it in and did some "dry" runs with water and all seemed well. I checked that the false bottom was snug to the bottom of the mashtun and that it was held firmly there by the manifold.

Well today I'm in the middle of my first run with the new false bottom. I open the valve and am getting barely a trickle as compared to the flow I got with the stainless braid. I tried all of the normal unstick methods; blowing back in the hose, stirring and letting the mash re-settle, etc. I am still getting a very slow flow rate. I realize that when continuous sparging, people are getting total runoff times in the 1 to 1.5 hour range. With my old stainless braid setup, I could drain 3.5 gallons in 10 minutes easily. With the false bottom, I can see that it is going to be more like the 1 hour range.

Can anyone using the false bottom for batch sparging give me some idea of what kind of flow rates you are getting? Do I have some other issue going on?

This is a grain bed problem moreso than a false bottom problem. I can easily get a gallon/min from my falsie if I really want to.