Basic Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

Crash

Reaction score
I've done a hand full of extracts when it dawned on me I may not be doing something right. After cooling my wort should I dump everything including the hops sediment into the fermenter or leave the sediment in the boil pot? I usually dump everything, but my last batch I didn't dump all of the hops sediment from the boil whould I?

sahuaro

Reaction score
I'm just a nooB myself, but if your not using some sort of bag to contain your hops or steeping grains, I would be straining your wort on its way to the fermentor.

helps with clarification,

MaynardX

Reaction score
Your beer will not be ruined if you leave it in there, but you will have a better final product if you strain it out.

OP
Crash

Crash

Reaction score
I should have been more specific; I use hops pellets in the boil which pretty much break dow into a sediment after the boil and settle to the bottom when I chill.

llazy_llama

Reaction score
Not really. After 60 minutes boiling, most of the lupulin has already been extracted. Strain or don't strain, I don't notice a huge difference in flavor... just in clarity.

rsmith179

Reaction score
There's obviously a few ways to do this. When I first started, I whirlpooled my wort a few times as it was cooling and then used the siphon to transfer the wort. Now I just use a strainer, but I do also use hop bags. Would highly reccommend picking up one if you're using pellet hops. Much less trub that way...

OP
Crash

Crash

Reaction score
Really appreciate the info I'm sure this will improve my brew. Thanks guys

Donthoseme

Reaction score
There was a thread a while back that said that dumping the sludge into the fermenter helped the fermentation to some extent. It said there was something in then trub that acted as a nutrient but also killed head retention.